Jargon Buster

A&E –accident & emergency is a service available 24 hours a day, seven days a week where people receive treatment for medical and surgical emergencies that are likely to need admission to hospital. This includes severe pneumonia, diabetic coma, bleeding from the gut, complicated fractures that need surgery, and other serious illnesses.

Acute care – acute care refers to short-term treatment, usually in a hospital, for patients with any kind of illness or injury.

Acute trust – NHS acute trusts manage hospitals. Some are regional or national centres for specialist care, others are attached to universities and help to train health professionals. Some acute trusts also provide community services.

BLMK – Bedford, Luton and Milton Keynes

Care Quality Commission (CQC) – this is an organisation funded by the Government to check all hospitals in England to make sure they are meeting government standards, and to share their findings with the public.

Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) – These are the health commissioning organisations which replaced Primary Care Trusts (PCTs) in April 2013. CCGs are led by GPs and represent a group of GP practices in a certain area.

Community Care – long-term health care provided within the community rather than in hospitals or institutions.

Deficit – when spending is greater than income.

Digitisation – the design and delivery of a digital programme with a view to maximising the use of information technology to support the delivery of care and services across BLMK.

Financial surplus – when income is greater than spending.

Foundation trust (FT) − NHS Foundation Trusts are not-for-profit corporations. They are part of the NHS yet they have greater freedom to decide their own plans and the way services are run. Foundation trusts have members and a council of governors.

HealthWatch – these are new organisations as part of the restructure of the NHS. Their role is to make sure patients are involved in developing and changing NHS services and to provide support to local people. There is a national HealthWatch which oversees the local organisations such as HealthWatch Milton Keynes and provides advice as an independent part of the CQC (see above).

Health and well-being board (HWB) − part of the NHS restructure, the aim of these boards is to encourage joint working between the NHS and local authorities across health and social care. HWBs are expected to be up and running in April 2013.

Integrate – a principle of this programme which refers to creating more co-ordinated care for the patient, making sure all parts of the NHS and social services work more closely and effectively together.

Localise – to deliver as much care as possible in the most convenient locations, making sure people have earlier and easier access to treatment.

NHS Five Year Forward View (FYFV) – The NHS Five Year Forward View was published on 23 October 2014 and sets out a new shared vision for the future of the NHS based around the new models of care. It has been developed by the partner organisations that deliver and oversee health and care services including Care Quality Commission, Public Health England and NHS Improvement (previously Monitor and National Trust Development Authority).

Overview and Scrutiny Committee (OSC) and  Health OSC (HOSC) − the committee of the relevant local authority, or group of local authorities, made up of local councillors who are responsible for monitoring, and if necessary challenging, programmes.

Prevention – Preventing ill health and promoting good health by giving people the knowledge and ability, individually and through local communities, to manage their own health effectively.

Primary care – services which are the main or first point of contact for the patient, provided by GPs, community providers and others.

Priorities – The BLMK STP currently being developed is linked to the five local priorities local partners have identified.  View these here.

Secondary care – hospital or specialist care that a patient is referred to by their GP or other primary care provider.

Specialist hospital – a hospital which provides specialist care for particular conditions, for example cancer or lung disease.

STP – see the ‘What is The STP’ section here.